Etsy’s Fucking “Followers”

.
etsy pissed

Howdy.   This is PISSED here.

Sorry about my bad language, Blissed.   But I’m really pissed about Etsy’s stupid system of “followers”.     Bad enough that they can’t get their terms straight for “hearts” which become”favorites” if you give them to an item and are “admirers” if you give them to a shop.   Go figure.

 But this “Follower” crap is just ridiculous.  When you open the shop owner’s profile you see this  …

Follow Etsy

Now wouldn’t you just assume that this meant you’d be following THIS shop … and you’d get notification when THIS shop lists a new item.  Wouldn’t you?????

Well Nope   …   Sorry but it doesn’t work that logically.   If you make the error and click on Follow you’ll join the other 2839 idiots who did the same.  All of you thinking you’ll get updates on EtsyTricksy’s shop

Well you’re NOT going to know when ET posts that cute new crocheted spider  … nope.   You’re going to get notices when ET clicks and hearts anything ELSE.   You get to follow ET’s meandering through Etsy and every time she hearts something, you’re going to get a notice with a photo of the item crammed into your “activities”.

Normally you open your “activities” FEED file to see what YOU have received.   You’re looking for hearts and shop favorites and notices of Treasuries you’ve been included in.   But TWO full sections of your Activities have NOTHING to do with YOUR shop.

activity feed

The first one, Favorites  … does have your favorites listed.   Which is fine.   But it ALSO has every pit stop made by anyone you mistakenly “followed”.  You’ll have pages and pages of items which are totally unfamiliar to you and most of which you don’t give a rat’s ass about.

The second one, Interactions  … further clobbers you over the head with more crap you don’t want.  This section contains notices of people who are following YOU.   Don’t get all excited and feel flattered or anything.  It just means more stupid people mistakenly clicked that  Follow button under your avatar.   They’ll get notices of anything you hearted ( and probably what you ate for lunch … )  They won’t get notices of ANYTHING in your shop. They get notices for other people’s stuff which you liked and are in fact being lured away from your shop.

And yep … there’s more.  If you’ve hearted something and someone else ALSO hearts it  … you’re going to get a notice about THAT.  “Cupsy Cakesy has refavorited an item you’ve favorited. ”    With two cute little intertwined hearts.   You think I’m kidding?

Alas, I am not,   Check it out and weep.

Three sections under your  “Activities” and only one, “Your Shop” is of any importance whatsoever to you and your business.

Smart people don’t Follow anyone’s shop.   Look at the top sellers.   They don’t.   “Following’ is a devious way to shake things up and get nowhere  … which is an Etsy hallmark.  Make people feel active and busy and they’re not going to notice they’re being snookered into being fronts for the resellers which are Etsy’s main business interest.

HOW TO UN-FOLLOW

If you FOLLOW  … you’re doomed to this spam.  There’s no way to turn it off unless you “un-follow”   Etsy cleverly conceals this option.   You have to go back to the shop profile which you “followed.  In a small discrete gray typeface, you’ll find the word “following” printed under the shop avatar.  Just CLICK onto it and a tiny little X will reluctantly appear.  Clicking on that X will remove you from the following option.  Etsy doesn’t want you to find this.

Warning:    SAVE YOURSELF THE BOTHER … DO NOT FOLLOW IN THE FIRST PLACE

.

.

.

This entry was posted in Pissed, Sly Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s